Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-01-2012, 05:26 PM   #1 
Bettanewbie60

Question New 5 gallon tank prep?

I just bought a 5 gallon tank for my betta, and need some advice on making it ready for "Buddy Blue". I want to get him out of his 1g bowl as soon as possible, but want it safe for him. Would a little gravel from his bowl help, and if so, how do I put some of it in the filter? (Don't want to bust the filter). I'm really new at this, any help would be appreciated!
Bettanewbie60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:38 PM   #2 
N03113

Depends on what kind of filter you have.. you can also put some of the old gravel into a nylon stocking and tie it off, just set into the tank as is.

What method are you going to use to feed ammonia into the tank if you're trying to cycle? If you're unsure, there is a sticky on the forums about cycling and it's a good read.

Also, I personally like using seeding bacteria, though some have had mixed results. I used Nutrafin Cycle for mine and it worked, not in the way that the label said, but helped to seed bacteria in enough to kickstart it.

If cycling, expect at least 2-4 weeks at the soonest but it can take longer depending on your method. Make sure you have a test kit such as API's Master Freshwater test kit on hand.
N03113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:40 PM   #3 
lelei

Talking Sammy's 5 Gallon

You can use the same gravel, that is fine, and some plants, and a hidey cave of some sort..I started my 5 gal with some of my fishy's fave plants from his prev 3 gal tank, and then I added new gravel, just for change of color..and then I added some real plants, Amazon Sword and a great place to hide (cave) and I included an air stone, for oxygenation to the water..some people do not use them, but my fishy loves it..:) Picture here
Attached Images