Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-02-2012, 05:59 AM   #1 
Aus

Noisy Sponge Filter!

I have a sponge filter for the new 39L (10 gallon). And it's.. REALLY noisy.

I have a pretty powerful external pump with its tubing attached directly to the filter. The flow seems massive, and that burbling sound the filter makes is very noisy. I'm wondering if I'm just not doing it right. I've never used this kind of filter before..

I have got a little valve thing to stick on the tubing, with a flow adjust knob but I'm kind of worried about whether having that too low will mess my pump up (pump is suitable for up to 100L/50G).

Is there any way to baffle/cut the flow down/shut it the hell up?

I know -nothing- about filters, pumps, tubing, valves etc, so any advice would be welcome. My experience with filters is trickle/sump things with a small submersible pump in the IQ tanks.
Aus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:36 AM   #2 
ao
TFK Moderator

adjusting the flow wont do anything to the pump... But sponge filters ARE noisy. what with the bubbling and the airpump sound. I usually rest the pump on some kind of solid surface and elevate it with something soft to lessen the noise. I think you should go for a HOB or one of those underwater ones. they're much kinder on the ears.
ao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:51 AM   #3 
Bounce

Are you using an air stone inside your sponge filter (attached under the bullseye)? If not, I've heard that that can make them loud.

I've always used air stones in all my sponge filters and haven't ever noticed them making any noise at all.
Bounce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 03:16 PM   #4 
Aus

Bounce - I am not using an airstone.. but I have one! Okay, will give that a try. :) Thanks for the tip!