Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #1 
beddini

Betta likely dying.. please help!

Hi,

I have a pretty sick Betta, who is likely on his last legs.. and I'm no expert and that's why I'm seeking out help here.. thank you all in advance!

Back story:

So, I inherited a seemingly healthy Betta back in late March. Staying with us was only supposed to be temporary, but we got very attached, and the owner gifted him to us. Since then he's been part of the family. He was even my best man at my civil wedding ceremony. As you can imagine his health is very important to me.

So here is the state of things:

Buster was originally brought in as a low-maintenance pet. His original owner said all she did was fill up the tiny bowl he was in regularly as water evaporated.. a full cleaning was done very infrequently. She only used distilled water too and nothing else.

When he arrived to us 6 months ago.. he was healthy and energetic. We thought since we were putting him in a much larger unfiltered/unheated gallon bowl he would be even better off (we've learned that's obviously incorrect now.. he should have a proper tank with heat/filtration). We also changed his water more often than before. We also switched to using tap with a water conditioner (Nutrafin Betta somethin'). We always prepare the water the night before and let rest overnight before changing the next eve.

prior to changing we verify the water temps (bowl vs fresh water) and will proceed only if the difference is less than 2 degrees.

all was fine up until a month ago. One of his pectoral fins started losing tissue.. My wife looked up the cause and said fin rot.. she got some aquarium salts and swapped out his water 50%.. His energy level was the same (good).