Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-03-2012, 11:07 PM   #1 
LizzyP

Exclamation Restless night from bad water conditions

I am never going to sleep knowing this.

I got a new API Freshwater Master test kit and tested my water tonight for the first time with it *cheers and claps*. However, my water levels are not up to par due to the fact I haven't had power until late last night and couldn't do a 50% water change because we had no water. The ammonia is really what is getting my nerves up. It isn't high (0.25 ppm) and I think it will be okay until tomorrow when I can do a 100% change but it still it keeping me from not falling asleep easily.

But now I have questions:

1. The pH in my tank is high, at a whopping 7.6. I will admit, I have absolutely no idea what this means for my tank and fish. What is the proper pH for betta fish? Will the pH go down when I make a 100% water change? Or do I need to put a solution in the water to make it go down?

2. Will Dumbledore be okay swimming around in water testing 0.25 ppm until tomorrow? I would do a 50% change tonight but it's 12am and the water from our well is cloudy due to not being used in several days because of no power, which leads me next to my next question.

3. Girl at Petsmart (she seemed somewhat knowledgeable...) said I can use spring water from the grocery store, like get gallons of Deer Park spring water and use that. Is that okay to use? Or could I use the cloudy well water and condition it like normal? To me, using conditioned bottled water seems safer.

4. What is the High Range pH test for? I tested that as wel and my tank tested a 7.4. Is that good or bad? How can I change it? I'm new to this water testing thing...If I only knew all of this stuff when I was a kid with betta fish.