Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-06-2012, 07:38 PM   #1 
morganville

Saved 2 betta fish and need some advice

Greetings, this is my first time on this site.

I have had one veil tail betta for about a year now named Claudia. He's doing great in his 2.5 mini bow. :)

However, while my local petshop I happened to look over at the bettas and saw 2 that needed some help. Their water was low and one had a ripped tail. Having some extra 1 mini bow's at home, I picked them both up.

Musta is an almost all black Crowntail and he's pretty healthy overall. No issues so far since i've brought him home.

Tarnish though is the one I need some help with. He apparently is a half-moon (though I don't really care what type he is) but his gains don't really seem to show it. His tail is also ripped and by ripped I mean a small chunk on the bottom is completely missing.

I just put him in his new 1 mini bow too and while Musta is flaring at him, he seems to have no interest in flaring back. He had just been flaring like a normal healthy betta before I moved him into the new bowl. Perhaps I stressed him?

Sorry if this is becoming a huge essay but to be frank to the point, just wondering what I can do to give Tarnish an environment that will aid in his fin regrowth and promote overall healthy half-moon fins.

Thanks!
morganville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:29 PM   #2 
Tikibirds

The best thing for him would be clean, warm conditioned water. You can also add in 1 teaspoon per gallon of AQUARIUM salt if you wish. I usually add it to all new bettas. I can help fight off bacterial issues with torn fins. However do not use it for more then 10 days.

Stress coat is also good to have for fin regrowth and can be used as a conditioner.

Do you have plants and a cave or something for him to hide in? It may help him feel more secure in his new home.