Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-08-2012, 07:22 PM   #1 
Ilikebutterflies

Fry activity level

The fry from my royal blue spawn are very inactive. They just sit still all day even when I feed them. They dart around if I tap the box but other than that they are pretty inactive. They have been free swimming for 3 days. The water tests out fine except for ammonia which is at less than .25ppm-very light yellowish green with the API kit. I was considering dropping an ammonia lock pouch in there. What do you guys think?

My salamander spawn was much more active at this age. They are 11 days old and I have only lost one fry out of that batch but they are very active and LUV to eat.
Ilikebutterflies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 07:27 PM   #2 
LebronTheBetta

Temperature? I'm still learning and I want to know this too. I suggest to do a water change if there's ammonia. I don't know when the growth stunts kick in but I'm going to give that another reason to do a water change. Sorry about the inactivity. They should be like little kids. Wanting to play day and night. I hope you find out soon!
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 07:37 PM   #3 
Ilikebutterflies

The water is quite warm. 87 degrees during the day. But then again the fish are all in the same room and the others seem to be fine. I don't dare do a water change. They are so tiny! I thought I could add water over the next few days to dilute the ammonia or toss some ammo lock in there. I think I'm safer with ammo lock. I siphoned the bottom of the tank while they were still vertical in the nest.

I hope things go OK because it is a large spawn. Easily over a 150 fry. These are my royal blues that I was excited about so fingers are crossed.
Old 07-08-2012, 07:53 PM   #4 
LebronTheBetta