Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-10-2012, 01:02 AM   #1 
1hotsummernight

suggestion/help setting up my first tank

Hello everybody, I'll be getting my betta soon, I'm new to fish and aquariums in general, but I all ready have my tank, it's a 10 gallon tank so I have a few questions
1. What's the best heater and light for this size of tank
2. Best filter that will work for a Betta (Since they are slow swimmers)
3. Best plants
4. Since a betta looks a little lonely in a 10 gallon tank buy himself can I put other fish in the tank with out him attacking them? If so what fish would work best I read some where neon Tetra will work but I also read that they nip fins some where, I also don't want to over stock my tank, I want to do everything right.
5. What else will I need I want to make double sure I'm doing everything right so I don't kill the fish.
I hope I posted this in the right spot I'm still learning my way around the site, I just really want to make sure I know what I'm doing
1hotsummernight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:51 AM   #2 
thekoimaiden
Reference Team

Welcome to the site and betta fish! Starting out with a 10 gal is a great size.

1. The best heater for that tank is a 50w submersible adjustable heater. I love the Fluval 50w heater, but I think the Aqueon Pro 50w fully submersible would be best. You can lay it on its side at the bottom of the tank to provide more even heating.

The best light depends on whether or not you want live plants. If you do, I would recommend getting a single fluorescent T8 tube hood. Replace the bulb it comes with to a 6500k plant bulb if you want live plants.