Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2012, 08:17 PM   #21 
prodrumernate
Member
 
prodrumernate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: phoenix AZ
i agree..and surly post the results tomorrow :)
prodrumernate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:42 AM   #22 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
The amonia today is still at around 6.0 with a trace again of nitrite.

So should i leave adding amonia today and test again tomorrow?
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:53 PM   #23 
prodrumernate
Member
 
prodrumernate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: phoenix AZ
yes,i wouldnt add any more ammonia until it starts dropping down.possibly another little water change and then test again tomorrow.
prodrumernate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:12 PM   #24 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
I was about to do a water change and thought i would test it first and i would say its at around 5 now....so perhaps leave the water change and test again in the morning.
Is it a case that i have to keep it consistently at between 3-4 now? so once it drops below that level i should add just a few drops to keep it at that.
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:17 PM   #25 
prodrumernate
Member
 
prodrumernate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: phoenix AZ
thats a good idea.,give it more time to see if it will drop on its own.and see if there are any changes in the morning and then a water change if needed...

yes keep it constant until ammonia and nitrates start to drop to 0 after a few hours and u get a nitrate reading..

"Eventually both ammonia and nitrite will continually test at 0 ppm and you'll start seeing a reading for nitrate."

then your tank is cycled
prodrumernate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:23 PM   #26 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
I have just ordered the api master test kit from ebay...finding it a little difficult to get an exact reading from the kingfisher tests...they are even showing nitrates at about 10
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:08 PM   #27 
prodrumernate
Member
 
prodrumernate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: phoenix AZ
im not too familiar with kingfisher..i too use the API kit..i know its pretty accurate..its a good decision you made.you can try taking it to your local pet store or fish store and see if they check the water for free.i know here at petco and petsmart they will check your water for free.im not sure if they have them there in the UK..i would think they do though..

nitrates at 10 is a good sign.your tank is cycling.even mine im not too sure the reading.it goes from 0 to 5.nothing in between so i cant tell if it has even just 1ppm nitrates.until it hits a 5 or higher.but you will spike out even at 40ppm..since you have a fishless cycle nothing to worry about :)
prodrumernate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:36 AM   #28 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
I have my API tests through and these are my somewhat confusing results.
Attached Images
 
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:37 AM   #29 
fairy74
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairy74 View Post
I have my API tests through and these are my somewhat confusing results.
Excuse the crazy cup in the background
fairy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:18 PM   #30 
prodrumernate
Member
 
prodrumernate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: phoenix AZ
is the tube on the very left the ph?

ur nitrate looks to be about 80ppm.

and ur nitrite looks to be about 2ppm

i think u r having thee spike because of the amount of ammonia.

i would still suggest a few more water changes and a few days..not adding any ammonia at all.since you do have a high ammonia ammount.waiting a few days wont hurt any.allowing all of it to kinda go down a little.as well as water changes.making like a 25-30% water change in the morning and the same at night.i do that with mine to keep it at a certain level since i have fish in it.

the only readings i get is ammonia.but im keeping mine down below .50ppm...and ince ur ammonia is high.thats y u have such high nitrate and nitrite.to me its just cycling faster than mine..ur readings are normal i believe.im no expert.but thats based on what i know.

do u have any pictures of ur aquarium?i want to see how much surface area you have for the BB.
prodrumernate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.