Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2012, 05:19 PM   #1 
ehh
Member
 
ehh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: texas
ammonia a little high

I was going to give charles a tank mate but I tested the water first and the ammonia was a little high. I was thinking thirty percent water changes every other day till the ammonia went down. What do you think?
ehh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:23 PM   #2 
clopez1
Member
 
clopez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miramar, Fl.
What size tank is it?
clopez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:40 PM   #3 
ehh
Member
 
ehh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: texas
Ten gallons
ehh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:41 PM   #4 
clopez1
Member
 
clopez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miramar, Fl.
30% should be plenty
clopez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:44 PM   #5 
LebronTheBetta
Member
 
LebronTheBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MD
Maybe the tap water has ammonia. It's either that it something in the tank is causing it. Or even test strips. Do a 50%-75% water change, and maybe it's out. Sorry with all the ammonia... :(
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:52 PM   #6 
clopez1
Member
 
clopez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Miramar, Fl.
How much do you feed Charles and how many times a day? Could be uneaten food causing the ammonia as well.
clopez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 09:58 PM   #7 
ehh
Member
 
ehh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: texas
I did a forty percent last night. My nitrites are low. Ph is a little high. Where I live the water is well water. I live in a rural area so the water isn't super treated like city water. I'll do the thirty percent water changes for a week and see if it improves. If not I'll treat the new water with ammonia remover and see if that works. That'll also tell me if our tap water has ammonia I guess
ehh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:03 AM   #8 
LizzyP
Member
 
LizzyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
What kind of testing kit are you using? Sometimes with the API test I have a hard time distinguishing between yellow and yellow green. I you are using strips I suggest getting an API Freshwater Master kit, it's more expensive but you won't be buying strips all the time and you'll get more accurate readings :)
LizzyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:54 PM   #9 
ehh
Member
 
ehh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: texas
were i work we have a master testing kit that we use to test customers water, which is the one i used. the difference between where it should be and where it is, is very apparent haha thanks for the reply though.

clopez, i watch him with he eats because sometimes he doesnt. the food that goes uneaten i take out right away.

ive done two changes so far, tomorrow ill test it again at work. hopefully it dropped.
ehh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia... too high? LauraWebb Betta Fish Care 3 03-18-2012 09:04 PM
Ammonia Too High !?!?!?! Ufishy Betta Fish Care 1 07-06-2009 02:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.