Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-15-2012, 09:53 PM   #1 
hannguyen

Wink Cycle a 5gal?

Hi everyone,

I read the post about how to cycle a fish tank because I'm totally new to this. My betta is currently in a 1 gal bowl. I want to put him in a 5 gal bowl but don't know how to cycle it. The tank will have a filter though

Do I HAVE TO cycle it? Or can I just put ammonia remover stuff like Kordon AmQuel Plus Ammonia Detoxifier and do PWC 25% twice a week ?

Someone told me that the tank will eventually cycle itself but I'm worried if it'll be harmful to fish while I'm away for vacation. And If I have to cycle it, how do I do it Step by step? Will Ammonia from Ace Hardware (10% Ammonia work?) or should I use frozen shrimp or fish food?

Thanks!
hannguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 10:15 PM   #2 
Tikibirds

If you have a filter, it will cycle weather you want it to or not.
Get the API master test kit or buy the ammonia, nitrIte and NitrAte test kits and test the water every few days. If ammonia or nitrite levels start to get high, do a water change. I changed 50% 0f the water when it went between .5 and 1.0 but i did fish in cycles. If you are doing fishless cycling then you can let the levels get much higher. it's really not as difficult as many sites make it sound - just keep an eye on the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels

No, you don't HAVE to cycle it. I have an unfiltered 5G but you would then need to do 100% water changes every week and a 50% partial water change. The bacteria that you get from having a cycled tank make it easier to get away with doing less water changes a week. Without a filter, you will not get those bacteria and therefore need to do more water changes.

somewhere on here Bahamut made a pretty simple diagram of what the cycle does. If you can find her post, it may help give a better idea of how the cycle works

EDIT: