Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-15-2012, 10:58 PM   #1 
tropical tailfin

Question I'm freaking out..

Im new to the fish hobby and i have been having a little problem with my female betta. Her skin has turned somewhat transparent and i can see a big white-ish sac inside her stomach area. I'm guessing it's from over feeding, but I am not so sure. Also, her gills have turned red and swollen a little. The same happened to a minnows gills and he died a couple hours later . Ill upload some pictures of her condition. Does anyone have an idea of what it could be?
tropical tailfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:01 PM   #2 
TipBetta

I wish I could help you but I wouldn't know what is wrong.
TipBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:03 PM   #3 
Pataflafla

There's a form to fill out in this section of the forum. Fill that out and post it here so we can help you with everything.

What's her coloring though, if she's light colored, she might have paled a little letting you see her insides (Paler fish tend to go somewhat transparent when they pale up).
Pataflafla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 11:04 PM   #4 
teeneythebetta

Can you post a pic? Please fill out this form as well.

Housing
What size is your tank?
What temperature is your tank?
Does your tank have a filter?
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?
Is your tank heated?
What tank mates does your betta fish live with?

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?
How often do you feed your betta fish?

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change?
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia:
Nitrite: