Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-17-2012, 03:40 PM   #1 
Sapphoira

White scum growing on tank sides?

Hi all! I am relatively new to aquarium keeping, but am an avid betta fan and recently set up a couple of tanks for my beautiful fish. Just the other day I got a new one, and today I noticed something odd inside the tank. There is this white, slimy grunge in a couple of patches on the inside of my tank. The fish has only been in the tank for about a day, after I let the filter cycle for 24 hours and monitored the ph and temperature of the water. I just checked all my levels, and everything seems to be within normal/ideal params. My betta is acting healthy and happy, he has even built a bubble nest already! A little bit of information regarding my setup:

Tank : 2.5g Aqueon tank (built in pretty low flow filter)
Small heater, temperature sits around 78-80 degrees depending on how warm the room is in.
I use Seachem's Prime water conditioner

I feed freeze dried bloodworms twice daily, only a few pieces and remove anything left over after a couple of minutes. (granted, this has only occurred for 1 day since that is how long the fish has been in the aquarium!)

I use black aquarium substrate sand for the floor

Live plants - umbrella plant and peacock fern (which I realized after I put them in that they are not fully aquatic... perhaps a plant change is in my future!)

I do not have any algae eaters, as it was recommended to me that I only get them after I have built up algae.

I have attached 2 pictures of the scuzz! It almost looks like when you rip a sticker off something and there's some paper left behind.. except it's not :)

Any advice would be appreciated!
Attached Images

Sapphoira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:30 PM   #2 
Sapphoira

Is this the correct section to post this in?
Old 07-18-2012, 08:29 AM   #3