Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-21-2012, 09:23 PM   #1 
BettaBuddy123

Changing water conditioners?

Hi folks!

I've been using this cheap water conditioner for my boy for about three months. It's working fine and very inexpensive, but it comes in a tiny little bottle, which I run through in less than a month. I'm concerned because the conditioner seems to be unique to petco and I will be moving soon where there is none so I won't be able to run out and get a new bottle of it. Looks like a change is in order. So here's the question:

What do you all recommend as a conditioner? Any troubles with certain brands?

Also:

Is it okay to change the conditioner on him all at once or will that compromise his health?

While we're at it:

Do you all use other things? I like to throw in aquarium salts as an electrolyte and to keep his gills in order, but are there other good things to use?

Thanks!
BettaBuddy123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:48 PM   #2 
vilmarisv

It's always better to aclimate your fish to new water, no matter if it's with the same conditioner or a new one.
I use Prime which is very innexpensive because all you need is one drop per galon of water.
As far as additivies, there's no need for them. I do use one drop of Aquari-sol per galon of water as recommended by a long time breeder and I have been using it for over 2 years.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:58 PM   #3 
battered

I'd recommend Prime as well. It's probably cheaper than most other conditioners (I haven't actually calculatred it) because it's so concentrated.
battered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 11:37 PM   #4 
Kenny G