Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2012, 09:20 PM   #11 
jennesque
Member
 
jennesque's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Prime and other similar products will one work for about 24-28 hrs though.. so keep that in mind. If your water is on the acidic side, ammonia will naturally convert to ammonium which is why I asked your ph.
jennesque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:13 PM   #12 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Okay so I got the prime & used the recommended 2 drops per gallon... It lowered new tap water to .5 ppm. I'd imagine more would lower it more, but hoe much more would be a safe amount?

I just measured my tap water ph- it's a whopping 8.2!! WOAH.

Edit: just re tested my tap.. Still showing an 8.2. My 10 gal has a ph of only 7.2. What is going on? xD

Last edited by teeneythebetta; 07-23-2012 at 03:18 PM.
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:31 PM   #13 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
I'm beginning to wonder if there is something wrong with my test kit. I added 5 x the recommended dosage of 2 drops/gallon and it is measuring .75 ppm once again. I'm wondering if earlier when I thought it read .5 if that was me misreading it...

I... Give... Up. Idk what is wrong!!
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 12:19 AM   #14 
MSG
Member
 
MSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
How are you cleaning your water test tubes?

You could be leaving residue in the tubes that's resulting in false readings.

What are your complete water test results?

Have you kept an active log/journal for all your test results?

The night I decided to start the sorority, my nitrites dropped from 1.0ppm - .50ppm then .25ppm.

Since the initial introduction, I haven't even done any water test or done any water changes.

These are the latest results.

Nitrite = 0 ppm
Ammonia = .25-.50 ppm
PH = 7.2

BTW, what kind of container are you using to do your water changes & how much water does it hold?

Oh yeah, if you're that close to a Petco, bring a bottle of your tank water & have them do a test for you if you're that worried.

MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 07:38 PM   #15 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
My water is definitely the cause of the ammonia, my test results have been accurate.

I was keeping a journal but when I first noticed the ammonia problems I was doing MAJOR water changes so it probably threw it off. I had only started for two days anyway though.

Ammonia- .75
Nitrite- 0
nitrate- 0

The prime is hardly helping and I'm using the maximum dosage. Idk what to do! Someone that lives about an hour or two from me said they got a letter in the mail from their city utilities that the city was raising the amount of chlorine in their water. But my city never sent me a letter. I did email my utilities about the situation though.
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:38 AM   #16 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Prime can cause a false ammonia reading...It neutralize the ammonia changing it to ammonium and the test product can't tell the difference.

How is the Betta acting....
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 10:05 AM   #17 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldfishlady View Post
Prime can cause a false ammonia reading...It neutralize the ammonia changing it to ammonium and the test product can't tell the difference.

How is the Betta acting....
She is acting okay, still active & eating.
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 07:33 AM   #18 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Since it works only 48 hours, does that mean I add more prime after that time period? Is it safe? I'm using the maximum dosage right now.

TBH I was thinking about having my mom buy a bunch of spring water cos I hate to think that my fish is suffering in her tank.
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 11:57 AM   #19 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeneythebetta View Post
Since it works only 48 hours, does that mean I add more prime after that time period? Is it safe? I'm using the maximum dosage right now.

TBH I was thinking about having my mom buy a bunch of spring water cos I hate to think that my fish is suffering in her tank.
The 24-48h is for ammonia/ammonium not the chlorine/chloramines

No need for spring water...tap with dechlorinater is best...
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do if tap water has ammonia in it?? swcho92 Betta Fish Care 4 01-16-2012 11:21 AM
Ammonia before water changes elliebellie Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 03-08-2011 05:03 PM
Tap water ammonia brancasterr Betta Fish Care 18 04-13-2010 08:26 AM
Sudden green water TigerLily Betta Fish Care 9 12-08-2009 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.