Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-25-2012, 03:47 PM   #1 
BettaKat

New to Bettas - new to fish!!

Hello there...
As the title clearly states, I am VERY new to owning a Betta, so new in fact that I don't even have it yet. I just bought the tank, heater, thermometer, water cleaner (don't know all the correct terms yet), but NOT the fish yet... I've done loads of research, for a reason I will get to later on in this thread, and they say you should get the tank ready before you bring the fish home... so, that is what I"m doing... I haven't even chosen my fish yet... :) That's why I say "watch this space" in my signature below.

I'm sure I will have loads of questions in the days to come, but for now, I am so excited to share my journey with all of you!

So, getting to the "REASON" why I did so much research... well, I'm not proud to say, but I got a Betta fish little under a week ago, and I put it in the tank, without any heater etc, just the tank, pebbles, and the fish (his name was Steven), and within 48 hours, he was dead... I was so upset, I love any living creature and I really was heartbroken that I could have killed an innocent creature :( So I thought to honor Steven, let me try again, but let me do it right this time... so, here I am!

I started off with Kevin, IN A BOWL... don't judge me, I had no idea... and he is still kicking, thanks to me doing research (GOOGLE :) ) and I got him a bigger tank with a filter etc... I don't have a heater in this tank, but I"m thinking of getting one...
I got another Gold fish, today in fact... she's pale pink in color... and I named her Candy, simply cause she resembles candy floss... ;)

They both seem happy... but like I say I'm sure I will have many questions to come in the upcoming weeks / months etc... I look forward to sharing my stories... ;)

WATCH THIS SPACE... :)
BettaKat is offline   Reply With Quote