Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2012, 04:15 PM   #1 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Water conditioner

I was just wondering...Is it correct to just add the drops in, or do you have to stir the water after adding the drops?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:20 PM   #2 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
I always give mine a a few shakes after I add it cause I use gallon jugs for my water changes. I really dont think you have to though.
Perseusmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:21 PM   #3 
Freyja
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Puerto Rico
I add the drops to my container when it's half-filled so that when I add the rest of the water it mixes. Don't know if it makes a difference.
Freyja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:23 PM   #4 
Bettanewbie60
Member
 
Bettanewbie60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Coastal Georgia
I always premix my water in gallon jugs, so it's ready for water changes. I'm not sure how to add it right in the tank.
Bettanewbie60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:27 PM   #5 
tpocicat
Member
 
tpocicat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fresno, Ca
I add the new conditioner as my tank is filling, I use a python.
tpocicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 04:38 PM   #6 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpocicat View Post
I add the new conditioner as my tank is filling, I use a python.
So then it must be okay to just ad the drops to the new water before pouring in without stirring, right?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 06:40 PM   #7 
Eduka
New Member
 
Eduka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Sorry to kinda hijack, but can adding too much conditioner harm the fish?
Eduka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 07:13 PM   #8 
battered
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Yeah, Prime claims to detoxify chlorine/chloramines/ammonia immediately. I've had no problems just pouring the water right in after adding Prime.

@Eduka: Generally, no. It's safe to overdose up to 10x the normal amount of Prime (some do this in an emergency if ammonia/nitrates are high).
battered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 07:25 PM   #9 
finnfinnfriend
Member
 
finnfinnfriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by battered View Post
Yeah, Prime claims to detoxify chlorine/chloramines/ammonia immediately. I've had no problems just pouring the water right in after adding Prime.

@Eduka: Generally, no. It's safe to overdose up to 10x the normal amount of Prime (some do this in an emergency if ammonia/nitrates are high).
Well I know it works immediately, but do you have to stir it in at all?
finnfinnfriend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 07:34 PM   #10 
battered
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by battered View Post
Yeah, Prime claims to detoxify chlorine/chloramines/ammonia immediately. I've had no problems just pouring the water right in after adding Prime.

@Eduka: Generally, no. It's safe to overdose up to 10x the normal amount of Prime (some do this in an emergency if ammonia/nitrates are high).
I don't, and I haven't had any problems. I also think that when you pour the water into the tank, it somewhat "mixes" the water by itself.
battered is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water conditioner vs betta water conditioner zinfandoll Betta Fish Care 18 09-04-2011 02:40 PM
whats the difference between betta conditioner and water conditioner? FishyFriend1 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 01-16-2011 01:18 PM
Does water conditioner INSTANTLY dechlorinates tap water? Dead Sunlight Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 07-16-2010 11:33 AM
prime water conditioner & water testing AliciaH Betta Fish Care 3 06-09-2010 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.