Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-27-2012, 11:07 PM   #1 
FlAussieMom

Help me understand...

I am fairly new to the betta community. I have had Mr. fish for over a year and he is doing really well. I have recently purchased 3 moreand am trying to do better by them. I purchased a new tank today and will be setting it up tomorrow (dividing and decorating it) and letting it cycle for a few days before I put the fish in it. Al, my biggest is very aggressive and I believe he will stay in the 2.5 gallon tank and I may purchase another guy to go in the divided 20 gallon long that i will be setting up. Al, the big guy in my profile pic, seams to have split his tail pretty good the other day and now it is starting to form brown streaks in it. I understand it is most likely fin rot. I am trying to treat it with clean water and a little bit of extra stress coat, I have taken all decor out of his tank but some soft plants for him to rest on. What else can I do to help him?

Also, before i set up the big divided tank, what additives should I put in the water, besides stress coat? I will be picking up a test kit in the morning so I can start testing the water like I should have been.
FlAussieMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:29 AM   #2 
Kenny G

Sounds like your doing everything you should do. I would pick up some type of antibiotics like Tetracycline.
Kenny G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 01:53 AM   #3 
Hallyx
Reference Team

Please review information about cycling. It takes more than a few days...ten at the least--- two months or more is not unusual.

Aquarium salt (for skin and fin) and Epson salt (for digestive issues) are good to have. If you're maintaining your water properly, you shouldn't need drugs.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 02:30 AM   #4 
mahi

It took me 5 weeks to cycle mine.