Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-29-2012, 02:30 PM   #1 
toad

Question Fishless cycle - water change?

Hi all!

I'm cycling - I mean, attempting to cycle - my 20 gallon tank, before I put anyone in it. I've never tried to cycle a tank before. Right now, the only living thing in there is some wisteria and an anubias. I've been feeding it everyday, with the crappy flakes that came with Percy's tank.

I've been doing this since Thursday or Friday (I think...), and it's starting to smell icky. It's filtered, with a Tetra Whisper 20. None of my tanks with fish inside smell icky, so I assume it's those nasty flakes rotting in there.

Am I supposed to change the water before I put any fish in it? Or will the smell go away when the bacteria have colonized properly?

Sorry for all the n00b questions - I honestly only just learned about cycling, and since more than 1 fish is going into this tank, I want to colonize the bacteria before stocking, to make sure the ammonia won't spike and hurt the little guys.

The tank in question:

Last edited by toad; 07-29-2012 at 02:33 PM. Reason: forgot the pic!
toad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 03:57 PM   #2 
MSG

That smell is the bacteria bloom. I had that, but once the water started circulating in the 10G tank with the 4 filters, the odor slowly dissipated.

• The biggest mistake you can make right now is to CHANGE the water.

Turn off the lights, unless you want to take pictures. Light will only create unwanted algae growth.

Add a heater, turn it up to high 80's or 90 degrees. (My tank was 90 for 5-6 days.)

The key thing I did differently during my cycle, was the constant addition of MORE filter floss taken from my established bio-wheel.

I just jammed as much as much "Seeded" filter floss in the new filters.