Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2012, 09:09 AM   #1 
bettafish2012
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Prime water conditioner

I started using Prime water conditioner for my new betta fish because my tap water has some ammonia. I mix the tap water with Prime and leave it to sit for 24 hours then I use it. Yesterday I tested my fish tank water and my "sitting" water for nitrites. Water from tank was showing 0 nitrites, the water mixed with Prime the day before and that was sitting for 24 hours was showing 1.5ppm. I couldn't believe that. Is this a false reading or what? I tested my fresh tap water and it has no nitrites. I use an API test kit. Has anybody tested the water after adding Prime and got the same reading?
Thank you
bettafish2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 09:36 AM   #2 
BettaQi
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
http://www.seachem.com/support/FAQs/Prime.html
BettaQi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 10:04 AM   #3 
bettafish2012
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Thank you. I read that Prime FAQ this morning but I still can't find an answer to my question. They talk about Prime and ammonia and they say that overdosing Prime will reduce or eliminate high levels of nitrite and nitrate. I will ask them my question.
bettafish2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 10:16 AM   #4 
BettaQi
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
What Ininterpret it to mean is that the ammonia is in a neutralized non toxic form.

Water still needs to be changed to remove it.
BettaQi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Tetra SafeStart and Prime water conditioner together? Will it work? TrickyFish Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 06-17-2012 11:21 PM
API Tap Water Conditioner and Prime together? Xxl3eAsTxX Betta Fish Care 5 12-23-2010 10:19 PM
prime water conditioner & water testing AliciaH Betta Fish Care 3 06-09-2010 09:26 PM
PRIME conditioner question - how much? Narnian Betta Fish Care 4 04-07-2010 02:50 PM
Prime water conditioner. dramaqueen Betta Fish Care 10 05-22-2009 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.