Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-03-2012, 04:14 PM   #1 
GFarra

Small Filtered Tanks and Cycling....educate me

Hi Everyone

I'm somewhat new to Betta keeping, but I've read alot here and have asked some ??'s in the past. I bought 2 bettas last weekend which are in glass 1 gallon bowls right now, unfiltered.

I also have a Tetra 1.5g tank and a Aqeon 2.5g Minibow that I set up a week ago and have been running. I was planning on moving the bettas into these tanks.

By reading posts and info on this site, I understand that I'll probably never grow an adequate bacteria colony as most people say its very difficult in a tank under 5 gals. So then....why are these tanks offered? Other than keeping the water clean of deposits what benefit does a filter on a smal tank serve?

Given these tanks, I was planning on doing 30% water changes on a weekly basis as well as a gravel vaccum. Is there anything additional I need to do to maintain these small filtered tanks or am I just wasting my time as the maintenance will be the same as if it wasnt filtered?

TIA, I'm really confused as I was hoping by using a filtered tank I can cut down on my maintenance.

George
GFarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:04 PM   #2 
GFarra

nothing?
Old 08-03-2012, 07:15 PM   #3 
Aus

You CAN cycle a smaller tank. The thing is, with a small amount of water, the tank will be unstable and the chemistry can crash at a moment's notice.

That said, I have a cycled 3.5 gallon that IS stable. This is, I believe, primarily due to it being stuffed with plants, including a lot of floating and planted wisteria, which is an ammonia sink.