Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-12-2012, 07:46 PM   #1 
aqua001

Question starting an NPT

So, I am starting an NPT soon. (or hope to, anyway) I am a complete newbie when it comes to NPT'S so I need all the info I can get. OFL told me that once the tanks are mature(a 3 month process), I can remove the filter. Do you think I can just not use a filter at all? It will be a twenty gallon housing ten penguin tetras and 1 mystery snail (please tell me if they don't get along) and another school of tetras of some kind, though this school will only have 6 tetras. Can you cycle an NPT? All this NPT stuff is very confusing to me and I have like 5 million questions so all help is welcome. One thing I noticed with NPTs is that the only kind of decore they have is live plants. Is this another key point in NPTs?

Thanks! :)
aqua001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:05 PM   #2 
aqua001

I'm going to put in swords, water wisteria, corkscrew vallisneria and anubias (sp?). Do you think they will work well together? Should I get some ferts or will the waste from my fish be enough? Where will I get the dirt for my tank? I heard that you are supposed to put some sand on the sides and the dirt in the middle. Why?

There's a few more questions to prove my point LOL:).
Old 08-13-2012, 02:58 AM   #3 
Aus

You can find out a lot more about NPT's by reading through OFL's threads - I learned a LOT by stalking her!

Okay, here's how I did my own NPT which is doing great - maybe I'll answer some questions as I go. ;)

1. Got some organic potting mix and river sand. Put dirt in, covered it with sand. Ratio: two parts dirt to one part sand, ie, 1 inch dirt. 1/2 inch sand. Left the edges free of dirt so it looked pretty through the glass. Pure cosmetics.

2. Added a few inches of dechlorinated water.