Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-19-2012, 10:26 AM   #1 
Sundancex

Thumbs up Dwarf Lily

In my first planted tank experience I purchased several plants including a dwarf lily beginning to sprout from its bulb. So far the lily is doing fantastic and growing like crazy. I went to sleep last night and the lily was at one point, today it is at least 2 inches higher. As a complete beginner I am surprised with how well this plant is doing. In addition to it being easy for me to grow, it is a beautiful plant and my betta loves the pads that have not reached the surface of the tank.

So just thought I would give it a thumbs up and recommend it to other beginners.
My specs are: 2 fluval 13 watt lights, Fluval EBI tank, fluval shrimp stratum, ferts are flourish, excel, and iron. Photo period is about 12 hours.
Sundancex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 03:13 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned

sounds nice but you will have to cut some of the leaves every ounce in a while.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 05:49 PM   #3 
vilmarisv

Good lighting will go that to a darf lily. I was amazed myself when I first got one as it completely ended up covering the surface of my tank.
I've been controling the growth on the one I have now by keeping it in a tank with water lettuce covering the surface. The plant grows very slowly this way.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:39 PM   #4 
LittleWatty

I've had great luck with my lilies sprouting from the bulbs. I too have to cut them back occasionally though. They grow like mad!
LittleWatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 01:05 AM   #5 
Tikibirds

I got 2 from planted aquarium central. They looked pathetic when they arrived but after 3 days, they are looking pretty good! I think they are lilly's....

EDIT

yup - dwarf lilly