Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-23-2012, 02:22 AM   #1 
masterofdisguise

Crowntail and Veiltail?

What would the fry be if I spawned crowntail with a veiltail? And also if one betta has a white body with purpleish fins and one has redish fins and a whiteish/redish body what colors would the fry be?
masterofdisguise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 02:27 AM   #2 
buddhauser

I believe you would get a Combtail but, I am no expert lol I do have one though and was told by others here that it was a hybrid of a Crowntail and Veiltail.
buddhauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 02:29 AM   #3 
masterofdisguise

Alright thank you do you have any ideas about the coloring?
masterofdisguise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 03:02 AM   #4 
buddhauser

I do not I am sorry... I have never bred before. Im sure someone on here will help you though. Everyone seems to be real knowledgeable, there are some sites with info on genetics and stuff. I think its best to know the history of the fish from what I understand... like parent colors and fin type to be sure what your going to get.
buddhauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 04:23 AM   #5 
Pilot00

I love veiltails myself, but breeders harshly refer to them as genetic detritus, an opinion that angers me to say the least.

Veiltails been a mass produced commercial species (well all store bettas are but VTs more so) carry a plethora of genes and thats what annoys most ppl.
When breeding a VT you have only the vaguest idea of what the spawn will be colourwise. He might be red but you dont know what else he carries in him. He might have yellow in his genes and he just dint express it. BAM yellow tinted or marbling fry, who knows?

You can make an estimation but in the end you will be surprised. Most of them will turn VTs though.