Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-23-2012, 08:50 PM   #1 
Link592

Exclamation Starting my first sorority tank

I have an extra 38 gallon tank and I wanted to start a female betta sorority tank, this is my first time having female bettas!

I will be getting about 6-8 females if you guys recommend more and I wanted to know which would be the best way to introduce them? The pet store we have is in a mall, it's pretty small but in the back they have fish and then in the front they have a huge aquarium, ADFs, and crayfish, shrimps and other types of fish. All there bettas are on shelves in a circle long cup with gravel in it, the females are $5 per I never seen them have a female but there sign says they are $5 each. If the ones I ordered from Aquabid don't make it, i'll be rescuing them from Pet Habitat, since some of them are dying from never being fed.

Anyways how do you guys recommend me introducing them to the tank? Aquabid breeders usually puts them in bags. [They are not related.] I wanted to know if I should:

- Float them in there separate bags
- Put them all in a huge zip lock bag and float them
- Introduce them so give them all 10 minutes to float, then wait 15 minutes add the tank water then after 15 minutes let one female float out and pick her territory, then 3 minutes allow another female out and let her pick HER territory. [How do you tell which one is least aggressive, like best ways to tell which one to let in first?]
- If I get Neon tetras let them in first or the bettas?
- Add more plants, so 3 plants = 1 betta? and make it close together like there own section?

Good things about the tank:
- It has a heater. But it tends to shut off, I don't think it's adjustable.
- The tank is cycled.
- Decorations, fake light silk plants.
- not as sharp gravel.
- Water :)
- Big tank 38 gallons [long].

Bad things: