Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-24-2012, 01:30 PM   #1 
neverknownxx

Possible Fin Rot?

Hello, I'm a newbie when it comes to Betta care and in need of some help. :/ I purchased a colored marble Betta named Pastel from Petco about three weeks ago. When I picked him up from the store he was in good health and made regular bubble nests, but about a week ago he stopped.

Then I noticed brown, I'm assuming, cottony growths on him and a black one underneath his one gill. After five days of treating him with Betta Fix his spots have improved but the black spot hasn't. And today I noticed the webbing in between his fins is almost completely gone.

What should I do to treat his condition? : / I've been doing daily PH tests, monitoring the ammonium level, and regular water changes. I just want Pastel to feel better... : (

Last edited by neverknownxx; 08-24-2012 at 01:45 PM.
neverknownxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 03:06 PM   #2 
prodrumernate

do u have any pictures?also fill this out so we can get more info and help..

Housing
What size is your tank?
What temperature is your tank?
Does your tank have a filter?
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?
Is your tank heated?
What tank mates does your betta fish live with?

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?
How often do you feed your betta fish?

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change?
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed?
How has your betta fish's behavior changed?
When did you start noticing the symptoms?