Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-25-2012, 06:52 PM   #1 
Dichotomy83

Betta, Mollie and Pleco?

Hello.

Im new to freshwater tank keeping and this forum as well.

My spouse and I have set up a 20g tank and are looking to transfer Alpha (our male betta) in.

The tank is going to also have 2 black mollies and a albino bristle nose pleco. There will be 2 "hiding places".

Does this seem adequate for an aquarium of this size? We will be adding the mollies and pleco first, to avoid territory issues.

Should the mollies and pleco be in the tank for a specific amount of time before we add our betta?
Dichotomy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:16 PM   #2 
homegrown terror

it all depends on the betta. i've had two other bettas in my molly/platy/ADF community (not at the same time!) and they did fine, but my newest is having more trouble adjusting, he's calming down now but he was nippy and chasing for a while. some bettas do well in a community, some don't. i'd float him in a cup before introducing him, see how he reacts to other fish.
homegrown terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:39 PM   #3 
Dichotomy83

Thanks for the reply.

When I float my betta in a cup, what things should I be looking for to indicate possible problems?

Is there a certain length of time I should float him before introducing?

Also, once he is introduced, what things do I look for to indicate incompatability?

If I notice he isnt mixing well, how do I intervene to separate?
Old 08-25-2012, 08:47 PM   #4 
homegrown terror

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dichotomy83 View Post
Thanks for the reply.

When I float my betta in a cup, what things should I be looking for to indicate possible problems?

Is there a certain length of time I should float him before introducing?

Also, once he is introduced, what things do I look for to indicate incompatability?