Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-26-2012, 11:37 PM   #1 
Ramla

Question Newbie needs some tips

Alrighty so I am a bit of newbie in the fish world....I have had a few fish in the past when I was younger, but had a horrible knack in killing them without meaning to, so gave up to spare their lives. But now I am off at college and sadly was not able to bring my turtle with me and the only thing allowed in the dorms are fish.

Needless to say I am a little desperate for a pet since sadly all of mine are back at home

So I need tips and any wisdom all you devoted experts have in caring for a betta. I have already bought a tank, it is a 3 gallon tetra tank I got at walmart. It includes a small filter, a light that changes colors, as well as an air pump.
Link to description

I am looking for guidance on set up and preparing this tank for my new friend, there is a local petco here and walmart, but there is also a pretty good local pet shop in my hometown that I can go to when I go home every so often if need be.

I am also looking for tips on live plants...if you would advise this for a newbie or not? I was hoping to at least be able to get at least one to stick in there.

So any and all advice would be appreciated... Thanks
Ramla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 12:14 AM   #2 
Jully

Welcome to Betta Keeping! These little guys are such awesome fish to have, and they are hardy!

• Starting the tank:
- Because you have a new tank, I wouldn't recommend getting fish RIGHT away, to set up your tank you are going to need:
• A strainer
• Hot water.