Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2012, 12:00 PM   #1 
Seki
Member
 
Seki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Switching water conditioners?

Hey all. I'm not overly happy with the water conditioner I have now, and the bottle is almost empty, so I'm probably going to be switching to Prime. I am curious, though, how to go about switching conditioners? I don't want to shock my fish by the change in chemical additives to their water. For my 5 gallon (which I'm in the process of cycling), the water would have to mix, meaning the two conditioners would mix. For my 2.5 gallon, I can easily switch the conditioners during my 100% water change.

Any suggestions on how to go about switching? Here is my current conditioner, if it matters at all (note how I have to use 48 drops PER GALLON! >.<).
http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...ductId=2752207
Seki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:06 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
There is not much of a difference.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:07 PM   #3 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
It does not really matter the brand you use they are practically the same.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:11 PM   #4 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator
 
Perseusmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
That should not be a problem I switched to Prime also in my 5 gallon, just started adding it to the water when I did water changes of 50 percent when I was cycling my tank. Its 2 drops per gallon with Prime.
Perseusmom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:13 PM   #5 
Pearl2011
Member
 
Pearl2011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Canada
I use 2 diff kinds, 1 I keep upstairs and I keep one downstairs so its easier for water changes.
Its a pain hauling 4 gallons up and down the stairs >.<
Pearl2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 01:59 PM   #6 
xShainax
Member
 
xShainax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Glens Falls NY
Doesn't matter. I use stresscoat+ and stresscoat+ with aloe.
xShainax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 03:13 PM   #7 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
It shouldn't cause a problem at all. I switched from API to Prime about a year ago. Never saw a problem with any of my fish. If anything your fish will be happier. Prime will put less chemicals in the water.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:41 PM   #8 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
+1 to everyone else
You dont need to acclimate, i switched from some tetra stuff from walmart (forget the name lol) to prime and have had no problems!
I love prime! it is great! Will last soooo long, only 2 drops per gallon!
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:44 PM   #9 
Seki
Member
 
Seki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Great, thanks everyone! I'm glad it's not bad for my boys to just switch over. :) I got a fantastic deal... my Petsmart had Prime on clearance, so I picked up a couple bottles. I won't need to buy conditioner for years now!

You guys say 2 drops per gallon... how do you measure it? Do you use an eyedropper, or is there some other method?
Seki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 05:46 PM   #10 
teeneythebetta
Member
 
teeneythebetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seki View Post
Great, thanks everyone! I'm glad it's not bad for my boys to just switch over. :) I got a fantastic deal... my Petsmart had Prime on clearance, so I picked up a couple bottles. I won't need to buy conditioner for years now!

You guys say 2 drops per gallon... how do you measure it? Do you use an eyedropper, or is there some other method?
OMG youre so lucky! *Wants* lol i have no use for it though, i only have 1 fish! xDD

Yes, 2 drops per gallon. I use one of those dropper thingys that you use to give liquid medication to kids. I usually add in 3 drops, i always add a little extra water conditioner because im crazy! lol
you could use an eye dropper tho
teeneythebetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water conditioners... PhilipPhish Betta Fish Care 5 07-15-2011 12:15 PM
Switching Conditioners Bettawolf19 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 07-06-2011 11:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.