Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-04-2012, 01:00 AM   #1 
Nanjan

Exclamation My Male Betta is sick and nothing seems to be helping :(

I'm new to the Betta Fish world and am quite concerned about my male Betta Linus, he was happy go lucky when I got him. I purchased a larger 2.5 gallon tank for him and also purchased a female betta Sally. The tank that I bought has a slatted separation wall that goes down the middle and I was assured by the associate that the two of them would be fine together...I was so excited!

They were fine, they even approached each other through the slatted wall and would show off their fins and puff up their gills to each other. They continued to be happy for some time.

I noticed about 3 weeks ago that Linus had changed, He would hide in the little cave I put in his side of the tank, he was lethargic, his color changed became dull and not vibrant or metallic at all. His fins are completely clamped and he just lies at the bottom of the tank. He's refusing to eat also. Sally on the other hand is fine...I have explained in more detail below.

Housing
What size is your tank?
2.5 Gallon bow front with lid. (from petsmart)
What temperature is your tank?
72F
Does your tank have a filter?
Yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?
Yes other
Is your tank heated?
No
What tank mates does your betta fish live with?
female betta, they are separated
Has a slatted division in the middle of the tank, shared with female

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?
Wardley Tropical Betta Food pellets
How often do you feed your betta fish?
twice a day morning and evening

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change?
every 2-3 days
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
50%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?