Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2012, 09:50 PM   #1 
saidbyme
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
few questions from a newbie

About 2 months ago the state fair came through, my son won 3 goldfish. We stopped on the way home, bought all the stuff we needed (3 gallon tank, rocks, decorations, etc) and of course they were dead by the next day. So I did some research, found this place, read a lot and ended up with a betta. I got a new tank and she was in a 5 gallon tank with a hillstream loach. Upgraded the tank to a 10 gallon and added an ADF. ADF, betta and loach are all happy, well, the loach is just there. She (he?) tends to just stick by the filter and in hindsight, I wouldn't have gotten it (bad petco advice). The 10 gallon tank came with the bio wheel filter but I swapped it out for the Whisper that came with the 5 gallon since the betta seemed to hate the flow.

Can I add anything else? The loach is rarely visible without serious looking, the ADF is entertaining as is the betta but it seems so empty in there. She is not aggressive or timid, seems pretty laid back to me actually. I like the tetras but I'm not sure a school wouldn't overload the tank.
saidbyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:26 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
The tank is overstocked the Betta and the frog are fully stocking if the loach is black and orange it grows huge and schools so you need a way bigger tank the loach is not a good tank mate the Betta is too aggressive.
http://www.loaches.com/species-index...a-macracanthus
http://tamarind.hubpages.com/hub/Clown-Loaches
http://freshaquarium.about.com/cs/lo...clownloach.htm
if it looks like this you get a big tank a 10 gallon is needed for fish friends that 10 gallon is minimum 5 gallon is fully stocked just with Betta and frog.

Last edited by ChoclateBetta; 09-02-2012 at 10:32 PM.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:50 PM   #3 
saidbyme
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Nope, its a hillstream loach like I said in the original post :) From all the research I have seen on them, their max size is 2-4 inches....

Editing to add.... maybe I was to rambly in the original post. Loach. ADF and betta are all in the 10 gallon which is what I am looking to add more to.

Last edited by saidbyme; 09-02-2012 at 10:51 PM. Reason: more information
saidbyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:55 PM   #4 
registereduser
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
You can use this to help determine your capacity limit.

http://www.aqadvisor.com/

also you may need to upgrade the filter since it was made for a 5 gallon.
registereduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:56 PM   #5 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by saidbyme View Post
Nope, its a hillstream loach like I said in the original post :) From all the research I have seen on them, their max size is 2-4 inches....
The tank is still overstocked they need a special tank for O2 it is way to small and under built for the loach one needs high current.
http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/p...03&pcatid=3003
http://www.loaches.com/articles/hill...-the-fast-lane
http://animal-world.com/encyclo/fres...treamLoach.htm
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:16 PM   #6 
xjenuhfur
Member
 
xjenuhfur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SoFla
You can always baffle the filter that was meant for the 10gal and your betta buddy may like it better. :)
xjenuhfur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:18 PM   #7 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
The hillstream loach won't do well in this tank. It needs huge filtration and a powerful current, which the betta won't appreciate. The originate in fast flowing streams with high oxygen content and have trouble breathing without good flow.
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:38 PM   #8 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olympia View Post
The hillstream loach won't do well in this tank. It needs huge filtration and a powerful current, which the betta won't appreciate. The originate in fast flowing streams with high oxygen content and have trouble breathing without good flow.
Finally do not forget the size.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:47 PM   #9 
saidbyme
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
ok so pull the loach out.... gotcha
saidbyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:48 PM   #10 
saidbyme
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjenuhfur View Post
You can always baffle the filter that was meant for the 10gal and your betta buddy may like it better. :)
Thanks I was looking into that earlier but the biowheel was so stupidly loud.... I think I may go with something quieter
saidbyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some questions from a newbie MrNighttime Betta Fish Care 8 07-24-2011 11:59 PM
Newbie with a few questions margotandfishy Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 03-28-2011 12:43 PM
Newbie with a few questions :) Alex919 Betta Fish Care 5 03-23-2011 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.