Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-07-2012, 01:04 PM   #1 
zebra3

Plant for small tank

Hi, so here's the situation:
I've never planted anything underwater before but I want to do so.
I have a 1 gallon tank that will probably be upgraded to a 3 gallon sometime in the next 6 months.
I want to add a small plant (no taller than 6 inches) to my tank, and maybe some frogbit to the top.
I have no experience with planting so I don't know where to begin.
I need to be able to do my weekly 100% water changes without killing the plant, so some sort of way to easily remove it would be great.

What kind of plant would you recommend?
I thought of getting something like this:

zebra3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:18 PM   #2 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator

Opps pictures arent showing...But I would go with either a Java Fern or Anacharis and you could float some Hornwort at top.
Perseusmom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:20 PM   #3 
Oldfishlady

What kind of light do you have-watts, kelvin and age of bulb.....
Lighting or proper color temp bulb is the driving force with some species of plants......

Since you want a plant that stays small-Anubias, java fern, java moss will work well and they need to be attached to something and not planted in the substrate-plus they are not that picky about the light and your bulb might be fine and since they are slow growing and not big eaters-plus are tied off-it will make the 100% water changes easier with less damage to the plant, however, you may not need to make 100% WC....

IMO/E the 1gal is fine to keep a Long fin male long term-
Do you have a filter, type of additives used, any snails or shrimp...

Can you post a pic...
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 01:41 PM   #4 
rich e rich

hello,

i would really like to know how you keep your betta healthy. Please share: