Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2012, 12:14 PM   #11 
starrlamia
Member
 
starrlamia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
you can add plants now, the plants will actually soak up some of the ammonia. It wont hurt them.
starrlamia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:31 PM   #12 
babystarz
Member
 
babystarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Here's the tank, I took a pic now that you can finally see what's going on inside it:


Ammonia is sitting at .5 ppm so I think you're right on the plants, I'm just hesitant because I had a GIANT ammonia spike with my last attempt that melted all my wisteria. I'll add a couple of plants today and see how things go :)
babystarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:35 PM   #13 
ballyhoo
New Member
 
ballyhoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
In my experience no matter how many times you rinse Flourite substrate it will make your tank cloudy. Filter will generally take out the majority and the rest will settle back in.
ballyhoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:36 PM   #14 
starrlamia
Member
 
starrlamia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
looks good!
starrlamia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 01:07 PM   #15 
babystarz
Member
 
babystarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Ok added two Amazon Sword plants. One wasn't in very good shape to begin with so if it dies I won't blame the substrate. I also realized that I picked up Flourish Excel instead of Flourish, so had to order some of the real stuff.
babystarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:10 AM   #16 
inareverie85
Member
 
inareverie85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SE Louisiana
Flourite, in my experience, is always very dusty. It'll definitely cloud your water if you don't rinse very thoroughly.

The water should clear up on its own in a few days.
inareverie85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 11:19 AM   #17 
babystarz
Member
 
babystarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
I received a shipment of plants earlier than expected yesterday and took the chance of adding them to the tank. It looks beautiful today! I haven't decided on the placement of the plants in the middle, the only ones that will likely stay where they are would be the ones on the ends:



Close-up of left side:


Close-up of right side:


I also have two pieces of driftwood soaking in bowls that the moss will be attached to, and I have another two pieces coming :)
babystarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank without substrate? ILLBETHEJUDGE Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 17 04-14-2012 05:37 AM
sand substrate making my tank VERY cloudy? ManInBlack2010 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 01-21-2012 10:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.