Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2012, 02:05 AM   #1 
LizzyP
Member
 
LizzyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ace Hardware Ammonia

I'm going back and forth on a fish-less or fish-in cycle. I want to cycle my 5.5 gallon tank in a pretty much painless way and not have to worry about making poor Dumbledore sick or whatever. I have posted a picture of my tank below:


So lets just say I decide to do a fish-less cycle. I tried the fish food method and it made my entire house stink. My parents made me dump it out, and I can't half blame them. That's when I decided I wanted to do a fish-in cycle. But with going to school full time, planning a wedding, and carrying on with my daily chores I don't think I have the time to clean his tank and keep ammonia at bay. I know about Prime and things like that, but I'd much rather not take a chance.

SO NOW TO THE REAL POINT OF THIS POST XD
Ace Hardware sells Janitor Strength Ammonia pretty cheap. I looked it up online:
http://www.acehardware.com/product/i...57&cagpspn=pla
Obviously I wouldn't be buying a 15 pack though.
Only reason I'm posting this is because it's only 10% ammonia hydroxide. Is this enough ammonia? I've heard of people buying their ammonia from Ace but wasn't sure if this was it.

If you/someone you know has used this, how much did they use to get a 2.00-4.0ppm reading?

I really don't know what to do. I basically want to tear down and rebuild this entire tank. I want to take the gravel and fake plants out and use a sand substrate and plant some nice, but easy to maintain plants. I am just so confused, lol.

Thank you all for reading my totally random post. I really appreciate all the input and help. :)
Lizzy
LizzyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:24 AM   #2 
RoxieStClaire
New Member
 
RoxieStClaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Just made the same decision, and bought the same ammonia, and let me tell you: ITS WAY STRONG ENOUGH. I made the mistake at first thinking that a capful would work.

Ended up having to start over after the ammonia spiked off the chart.

The thing is, ppm stands for parts per MILLION. So say you have 999,999 water molecules, and you add just one ammonia water molecule. You would already be at 1.0 ppm. So a little goes a long way.

I ended up putting in maybe 10-15 drops overall in a five gallon tank, and its at 4.0 comfortably.

So I'd go ahead and just buy one of the smallest bottle you find. You wouldn't need more than that... ever again, lol.
RoxieStClaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:26 AM   #3 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Just about 1 drop/ppm/gal
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 02:33 AM   #4 
LizzyP
Member
 
LizzyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ooh, thanks guys. I think I'm just gonna do it. Hally, expect a message here soon XD.
LizzyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 04:07 AM   #5 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
But remember: the pure ammonia is just the clean, efficient way of feeding the bacteria. Getting the bacteria in the first place; that's the time-consuming part of cycling.

See what Gale has to say on this thread:
http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/b...2/#post1237197
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 01:17 PM   #6 
LizzyP
Member
 
LizzyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Oh yeah, I read that. Only thing worries me is my tank is underneath cabinets and will have a hood on it. Should I keep the hood off? Or move the tank? Moving 5.5 gallons of water in a glass tank should be interesting. o.o
LizzyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:49 PM   #7 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
I'd leave the hood off for a few weeks or until the ammonia starts to go down. At least you'll have gotten all the bacteria you can.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia TharBePirates Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 12 09-19-2010 06:54 PM
AquaClear Ammonia Remover Filter Inserts? (ammonia removing gravel media...) PinkDiamond Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 10-20-2009 11:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.