Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-14-2012, 12:36 AM   #1 
cjz96

Unhappy Sick Baby

Hi, I am new to keeping betta fry. I picked up 3 a couple days ago. One seems to not be doing well. Thank you for your help!
Housing
What size is your tank? .5 gallon hospital
What temperature is your tank? 86F
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Homemade
How often do you feed your betta fish? 3-4 small meals a day

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? 50% once a day
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 50%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? Stress Coat Plus and Oak Leaves

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?
9-14-12 test:
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite:0ppm
Nitrate: 0ppm
pH: 7.4 (added oak leaves to lower ph)
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? Bought a betta fry a couple days a go due to pure guilt. She had (still does) clamped fins and was looking pretty bad in her cup. She is very lethargic compared to the other fry. She has an abnormally big head and she has a trouble time swimming. She often ends up on her side or upside down when trying to get a breath so I lowered her water level.
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? She has stopped eating as of today. She started gasping for air even though her tests came back normal.
When did you start noticing the symptoms? A couple days ago
Have you started treating your fish? If so, how? Tannin source; warm water.
Does your fish have any history of being ill? Not sure.