Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-14-2012, 01:17 AM   #1 
Animal Lover37

Exclamation Whats wrong with my female?

I am a bit confused about how my female is acting. First things first, this is my first time breeding bettas but i have done all research possible beforehand to make sure everything went well. I even came to this site quite often. So im trying to breed a pair of bettas and what the situation is that they are no longer embracing. Yesterday they have done it twice that was seen but they havent done it since. No eggs were released and the male isnt chasing the female from the nest. If anything he follows her so he can embrace her but she just swims a little farther. I understood that once the embracing process started he squeezed till all her eggs are out. My male is doing everything possible to get her attention and while my female is submissive and will even swim next to him without fear when ever he starts to try something he moves just a little bit so he cant. They arent even fighting anymore. While i really do want them to spawn im more worried about her being eggbound.
see the thing about my female is that i used to have two of them a cambodian and a little grey one and while i had them in a community tank with no males they got filled with eggs. so thats when i took the opportunity to breed them. well at least one at a time for i only have one spawning tank. so i tried my cambodian because she looked the biggest. i let the whole flirting process happen and let the male build his nest till i released her, all this while my other female was still in the community tank. Well just yesterday she sadly died and it couldnt have been anyother reason besides that she was eggbound so that is just my greatest fear. i want my male to squeeze the eggs out of my only female now so that the same doesnt happen to her.