Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-14-2012, 04:49 PM   #1 
TheDragon

My first ever NPT

This is my first attempt at a NPT. The tank, filter and hood are from a Petsmart 5.5 gallon starter kit. The light is a GE Energy Smart 13W daylight CFL with a color rating of 6500K.The heater is a Hagen Elite" mini submersible 10" 50 Watt. The slate cave I built out of some chunks I found laying around outside, sanitized and siliconed together. The driftwood is part of a tree a storm ripped out a few years ago in some woods not far from my home and like the slate sanitized. One and a quarter inches of sifted Scott's Premium Topsoil for the substrate that I let dry out for about two weeks. The cap is a half inch of KolorScape Leveling Sand, Step 2 that I again let air out for two weeks

Now for the plants. Java moss on the cave and driftwood. Anacharis in the back left corner. Cabomba in the center back. Bacopa in the back right corner. Cryptocoryne wendtii "Red" in the front right corner as well as between the driftwood and cave. Finally, Dwarf Hairgrass scattered across the foreground.
TheDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:53 PM   #2 
TheDragon

Name:  NPT1.jpg
Views: 217
Size:  48.8 KB
Old 09-14-2012, 05:32 PM   #3 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator

Very nice and love the cave you made, great work !
Perseusmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 01:35 PM   #4 
Oldfishlady

Nice job, however, I would add some more stem plants and some floating plants.

Naja grass, cabomba, rotalia, water wisteria and other hygrophilas all work well in the soil based tanks-I would add at least 10-12 stems of 3 more species of stem plants and a floating plant like water lettuce. At least 75% of the floor planted with stems and 10-25% with floating plants.

What are you using to aerate the soil...poking or trumpet snails