Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-17-2012, 11:00 PM   #1 
TheCheese909

Velvet, how do i use Coppersafe?

I have a 5 gallon filtered aquarium with silk plants and one CT male Betta. I just put a new filter in his tank about two weeks ago and now he's got Velvet. I've had this problem with these types of filters before, I had added a new filter into a different 5 gallon and my HM got Ick about two days later..

But anyway..

So, he's got Velvet and i've been treating him in a 1 gallon QT with Maracide and have been for about 6 days? It's a bottle I've had around for awhile and I've got enough for about one more dosing. I have a new bottle of Coppersafe that i've never used before and I know they treat for the same things but the Coppersafe is supposed to be used in the actual tank itself and not a hospital tank.

The bottle says 1 teaspoon per 4 gallons of water and it treats for a whole month and that you 're not supposed to do water changes or take the filter out. I haven't changed the water of his home tank at all yet, so I think i'm just going to add the 1 teaspoon with a tiny bit extra (only like acouple drops) to make up for that extra gallon of water.

Do I need to add it again at all during this month long period or is one teaspoon going to be fine for the whole time like the bottle says? If I need to vacuum the tank at all and do like a 25% water change should I add another couple drops to this new water to make sure it's all treated or should I not change any water at all?
TheCheese909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 11:08 PM   #2 
Sakura8