Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2012, 10:52 PM   #1 
Aluyasha
Member
 
Aluyasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington
Question 20g With No Filter?

So yesterday my husband's coworker gave him a tank filled with stuff. Unfortunatly upon further inspection it turns out pretty much everything it came with was broken. :/
So now I have a empty 20 gallon tank. I was just curious, if I got a betta to put in it, could the tank be fine with no filter?
Just curious. :)
Aluyasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:58 PM   #2 
kfryman
Member
 
kfryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
First off a single fsh in a 20 gallon is a pretty big waste, especially for such a small fish. If you have one yes as the aquarium is big enough to dilute the ammonia, I don't know how many water changes you would need though.

Filters are always best though, they help have better water quality, better circulation, gets milk out of the tank, and you can cycle the tank and have fish. I would personally get an Aquaclear or Fluval C2 from Amazon as it is going to be cheaper and then you can have way more fish.
kfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:05 PM   #3 
Aluyasha
Member
 
Aluyasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington
I know just one betta sounds very boring in a 20g but I had one betta in a 15g in the past and I actually really liked it. So I would have no problem having just one fish in there. :)
Aluyasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:09 PM   #4 
Tikibirds
Member
 
Tikibirds's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Warrensburg, NY
I had 12 bettas in a 20 with no filter. I did 100% water changes 2X a week though
Tikibirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 06:39 AM   #5 
Thunderloon
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
You could get away with it. A betta needs about 4 cubic inches of sponge filtration running at 20gph. One good plant in a pot filled with a small box of laterite for soil would work finee. I've no idea if you can get single-pot packets of SeaChem Fluorite clay but it'd be a better option, it tends to drift like sand tho.

OFL would tell you just go dig up some clean chemical free dirt and treat it in the oven before using it in the pot. 8)

I kinda agree about a 20 being a little big for one betta, they tend to like large puddle-like spaces.
Thunderloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 06:00 PM   #6 
thekoimaiden
Member
 
thekoimaiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia, USA
I think with sufficient plants, you could easily do it. You would still have to to water changes to replenish the minerals for the plants (and fish!). One way to achieve water movement in a tank like this is to place a heater horizontally near the substrate. Convection currents move water throughout the tank.

Alternatively, that's a great size for a small tropical community. Or even a sorority.
thekoimaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:48 PM   #7 
Aluyasha
Member
 
Aluyasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekoimaiden View Post
I think with sufficient plants, you could easily do it. You would still have to to water changes to replenish the minerals for the plants (and fish!). One way to achieve water movement in a tank like this is to place a heater horizontally near the substrate. Convection currents move water throughout the tank.

Alternatively, that's a great size for a small tropical community. Or even a sorority.
I was thinking of just one betta too because I do not have the funds to buy a filter, plus the way the lid is, if I got a filter I would need to also by a new lid. :/
Would any other fish be fine in there with no filter? (Of course I would do water changes)
Aluyasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:18 PM   #8 
kfryman
Member
 
kfryman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Fremont, CA
What is the top? Filters are a must for most tanks again. I wouldnt have a tank with a filter as you an stock it fully and can do normal water changes. If you don't get a filter make a diy sponge fikter and buy an airpump, that way you can have a few more fish.
kfryman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:23 PM   #9 
Aluyasha
Member
 
Aluyasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Washington
The lid does not go to this tank, it is a Marineland bowfront lid that takes up the whole top of the tank, leaving no room for anything else (besides the little spaces from it being a bow shape on a normal square tank).
Aluyasha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:54 PM   #10 
OhNoLenX
New Member
 
OhNoLenX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KY
I would get a filter and add a few more fish and maybe some ghost shrimp.
OhNoLenX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AZOO Mignon Filter or RedSea Nano Filter - anyone using this filter? MSG Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 7 08-04-2012 10:09 AM
2.5 minibow filter tore tailfin, need advice putting in Red Sea filter ASAP KristiLee Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 01-09-2010 08:58 PM
Nylons on filter intake? Filter changes? and Prime for cycled tanks? PinkDiamond Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 9 09-04-2009 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.