Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-20-2012, 01:53 PM   #1 
starmiss

Exclamation what a bit of research can do... newbie betta owner

hey everyone! i'm a newbie to this msg board and also to bettas, so i figured i'd introduce myself, and let you know how the worst betta mommy can evolve when we know the real facts! i must have made every rookie mistake in owning a betta, and thought i'd share my experience.

this is the first time i've ever had fish! all my past experiences as a kid ended up with the poor fishies floating belly up in their tanks within the first few hours. the longest living of the fish lasted 3 days before it died. i'm sure it didn't help that they were "fair prize" feeder goldfish, but i certainly didn't know anything about de-chlorinating water, amonia, ect...
after finding a fish bowl at a yard sale i convinced my boyfriend to let me get a fish for our apt, and i impulsively went out and bought a male betta fish we named Sushi :) thankfully the girl at the petstore advised us to buy water conditioner and the right kind of food, because we had no idea!
here is what his initial set up looked like!

i was very happy with the initial set up - i had a pretty fish in a pretty little bowl, and as far as i could tell he was happy and had a much better life outside of the little cups at the petstore. once he was at home and settled, i went online to do some research - things like cycling a tank, plastic plants being bad for bettas, and the fact that bettas don't actually live in puddles were all new info to me! i felt terribly guilty, and went out the next day and bought him a more appropriate habitat!