Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-22-2012, 03:29 PM   #1 
Zoonoo

Brand New Betta Owner- How Am I Doing?

Hello all! I am a brand new fish owner, never cared for a betta before. I'd like your opinions on how I'm doing with my very first fish! I'd like you all to meet my as yet unnamed little man, who was just brought home today:

Name:  photo copy 4.jpg
Views: 163
Size:  42.7 KB

The color in these photos is not quite true; in reality he is actually a much more vibrant purple with some more reddish areas.

I am a freshman in a college dorm and don't have access to particularly good water, so before putting him in I started the filter to my tank up and added some NutraFin Betta Plus Conditioner to make sure it was clean. The water temperature fluctuated for a little bit but it's settled at about 85 degrees Farenheit now.

Name:  photo copy 3.jpg
Views: 165
Size:  54.3 KB

He is living in a 2-gallon tank with gravel and a water plant on my desk. His tank also has a light which I plan to turn off at night. He's been active to the point where it's been difficult to photograph him holding still, which I hope is a good sign. He's been kind of freaking out near the water filter like he thinks it's pulling him in, but the part he starts getting frantic near is the part that's pushing filtered water back into the tank, so there's no way it's pulling on him so perhaps he's just playing?

I've noticed bubbles sort of coating the sides of the tank ever since I put the water in, but before I put him in so he didn't make them. Is this important at all?