Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-23-2012, 06:52 PM   #1 
RedRaz

Which fish should I get?

Hello everyone! I recently bought a 10 gal aquarium deluxe kit *heater, filter* from Petco. I was wondering what type of fish would you all recommend? I plan to start cycling my tank next week. Since it will take a few weeks I wanted to make sure I knew which fish to buy once I have cycled my tank. Any suggestions? Or advice for a newbie?

Thank you in advance!
RedRaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:14 PM   #2 
inuudo

I'm a newbie, too. I stocked my ten gallon with nine neon tetras and a mystery snail. I have an Aquaclear 20 filter, a 50 watt heater, gravel substrate, live plants, and lava rock.
inuudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:38 PM   #3 
RedRaz

Hello inuudo! Oh wow! Sounds wonderful. You should post a pic. :) I love seeing other members tank setups. What are your thoughts on fancy goldfish? IDK why but they remind me of cute puppies. lol! I just am not sure if a 10 gal is big enough for them though.
Old 09-23-2012, 10:44 PM   #4 
RedRaz

I just did some research and found out I would need a 20 gal for one fancy goldfish and a 30 gal for two fancy goldfish. *sigh* I wonder if I should return my 10 gal and upgrade it? Or just look for other fish that would work with my 10 gal. Hmmmm. The other option I was still contemplating was dividing a 10 gal tank and getting two bettas.
Old 09-24-2012, 04:47 AM   #5 
Tikibirds

do you happen to know if you have hard or soft water? Some fish do better in hard and some in soft however I am not sure what fish go into what catagory.
If petco is still doing the $1/gallon - I would upgrade if you really want a goldfish.
Or you could do something like guppies or cory's in a 10 gallon or an all female betta tank but that is more risky as there is no guarantee the girls will be able to get along.