Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Pictures
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-24-2012, 02:22 PM   #1 
sareena79

does his tail look ok?

With Sushi being a crowntail I always worry that I may miss a rip/tear in his fin and that it will get out of hand and I will end up with a case of fin rot (Im a worrier) plus he has such LONG rays its hard to really tell, ya know? I couldnt get him to sit still enough for a good pic so I decided to take a video.
Im new to this whole betta thing and just wanna make sure Im taking good care of my little "Piranha" lol (he's quite fiesty sometimes!).....and before its asked, YES he is in a vase but its LARGE 2g one that I clean/condition twice a week. The roots of his plant only take up about 1in of the opening which is over 6in across so he gets plenty of air and they only extend down about 2in into the water and are rinsed/trimmed regularly. He likes to hang out in them alot. He has an LED light with a moonlight setting as well and I have a thermometer and heater (adjustable) that will be here this week. He gets fed a combo of betta flakes and brine shrimp once daily. I know its not ideal and Im eventually going to move him to a 5gal when I can afford it and have more room but for now I think hes doing very well, just wanna know if anyone has any opinions on his tail. Does it look ok???
HOPEFULLY THIS WORK hahahah bear with me, Im still learning:

http://s77.photobucket.com/albums/j4...psf2c7d849.mp4
sareena79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:35 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned

The fins look good for a crow tail. But the tank does not sound heated, plus the hole in the lid you described sounds like he can jump out so make sure there is something above it and air below it. Bettas can actually drown. Can not wait to see the five gallon. Remember heaters area must.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:46 PM   #3 
laynisample