Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-26-2012, 04:27 PM   #1 
bige32123

Question Inactivity in my betta???

Hey guys! I am brand new to the fish keeping life and have two questions.

I like to think I "rescued" my new betta, Zeta, from Walmart 2 days ago. She is a red veiltail and when I got her, she was in a vase with no pebbles and only about and inch and a half of water. I went there with the intention of buying a betta and she was absolutley beautiful. The guy at the store said that she shouldn't have been kept like that and they gave her to me for free!

Anyways is it completely normal for bettas to just kind of sit at the top of the tank inactive? She seems to have been doing this since I brought her home. She is in a 1 gallon tank (largest size the college would let me have) with a small tunnel and a plant that I am growing. There is no filter (but I intend to do frequent water changes) and no heater (even though the room stays pretty warm). Just want to know if inactivity is normal?

Second question: Is it ok to leave her in the tank when I do weekly ph balances? I bought Tetra EasyBalance and it says to use weekly. Just want to know if I should take Zeta out of the tank when I do this or if she will be safe enough in the tank.

Thanks for the help! My roommate thinks it's stupid that I'm in love with my fish so much. I think it's pretty cool
bige32123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 05:48 PM   #2 
DragonFish

Hey there. :) Welcome to the forum and wonderful world of betta keeping! Congrats on your new little rescue girl! She sounds lovely. :)

To answer your question.....no, it isn't normal for a betta to sit around and be lethargic. Bettas are a very active species, and a female in a 1 gallon should be all over the place.