Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2012, 10:43 PM   #21 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Nuts! Yeah, that can happen.

I just reread this thread. Your water is warm; you have plenty of aeration; sufficient flow; enough ammonia, hmm.....

Try cutting your ammonia back to 1.0ppm. Keep it dark (I know you have plants, but a couple of days won't hurt). Is your filter on high?
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:03 PM   #22 
RoxieStClaire
New Member
 
RoxieStClaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
My filter isn't adjustable, unfortunately, so it is whatever it is, and there's not much I can do to increase flow.

Yeah, since I noticed the cycle starting to slow down I've kept the tank wrapped up in a towel to block out light.

I think I know what caused it to stall, though. I read on someone's fish keeping blog that suddenly adding too much ammonia at once can create a mini-cycle, so it probably happened when I tried to bring the ammonia back up to 2.0ppm. I'll try taking out enough water to bring it back down tomorrow if it hasn't already started cycling again.
RoxieStClaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:26 PM   #23 
RoxieStClaire
New Member
 
RoxieStClaire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Day 10

Woke up this morning, tested my water and... Nothing magically changed overnight, so my ammonia was still at 2.0ppm *head-desk*. I ended up taking out 2 gallons of water to bring the ammonia back down to 1.0ppm. I also added Prime to the added water this time (since the only other thing I can think of that could have possibly stalled the cycle was NOT adding a conditioner to the gallon I added a few days ago. It dawned on me that my city's water is FULL of chlorine and aging it overnight might not have been enough to neutralize it).

My current levels:

Ammonia: 1.0ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: Somewhere between 0ppm and 5ppm

I... Don't think I'm going to touch this tank again, aside from testing, until the levels start changing again.
RoxieStClaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:15 AM   #24 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoxieStClaire View Post
......the only other thing I can think of that could have possibly stalled the cycle was NOT adding a conditioner
Whoops!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoxieStClaire View Post
I... Don't think I'm going to touch this tank again, aside from testing, until the levels start changing again.
Yup.

Keep us apprised, Roxie
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, safestart

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetra safestart battered Betta Fish Classifieds 2 08-25-2012 05:04 PM
Have you used Tetra SafeStart? freemike Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 0 03-05-2012 09:46 PM
Tetra Safestart - Anybody used this before? Phether Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 06-09-2010 03:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.