Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-30-2012, 05:40 PM   #1 
caljamsam

Post The poor things were so hungry

I appreciate the advice I'm getting here, because I'm relatively new at this. However some of you told me to not feed them for a couple of days. I must tell you there is a rule in this house that no one or nothing shall go hungry...ever.

I just fed them some new pellets. Have you ever heard a betta fish scream? Well mine did. So, the bottom line is I will continue to feed them every day twice a day, even if it kills them.

I know we're smarter than them, but if they die I'll go to Petland and pick up another one for $2.99. But they will not go hungry. It is against my religion. Thank you.
caljamsam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:48 PM   #2 
LebronTheBetta

They can go up to 3 weeks until they're hungry. :o They have a different metabolism as humans. I'm sorry if your religion is interfering with the health of your Betta. What's wrong with your Betta exactly?
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:05 PM   #3 
LionCalie

Fish always act like they are starving. That is why overfeeding and the problems associated with it are so common.

Just keep in mind that a Betta fishes stomach is the size of its eye. Feeding small meals twice a day is actually common practice, although I personally feed my boys once a day.

It is highly recommended that you fast your Bettas one day out of the week. It helps prevent constipation problems.

Edit to add - Betta fish do not scream.

Last edited by LionCalie; 09-30-2012 at 06:09 PM.
LionCalie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:11 PM   #4 
Luimeril