Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2012, 05:50 PM   #1 
HookedOnBettas
New Member
 
HookedOnBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Co2 safe ?

i want to start a new tank with high light plants and i want to know is
Co2 safe to use with fish? any advice will help.
HookedOnBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:38 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Too high CO2 is bad for plants and fish. Some fish are better adapted to higher CO2. Bettas and cories are adapted to high CO2.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:38 PM   #3 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Yep CO2 is fine for all fish.
Posted via Mobile Device
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:41 PM   #4 
HookedOnBettas
New Member
 
HookedOnBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
ok thank you guys .
ill give it ago.
HookedOnBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:42 PM   #5 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
What sort of system are you looking into?
Posted via Mobile Device
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:46 PM   #6 
HookedOnBettas
New Member
 
HookedOnBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
So I don't know if they are any good but I believe petco has a fluval Co2 system kit. I'm just scared Ill kill my fish .
HookedOnBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:52 PM   #7 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Yea the Fluval kit is a good start for a smaller tank. Just because there is CO2 doesn't mean there isn't any O2.
Posted via Mobile Device
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:14 PM   #8 
HookedOnBettas
New Member
 
HookedOnBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Ok yeah good so I want to put that kit on for a 12 gallon long. Will I need to always use Co2 to keep my plants alive ? Like baby tear grass
HookedOnBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:10 PM   #9 
Olympia
TFK Moderator
 
Olympia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Yea you gotta keep it on. Careful as it will cause a pH drop when first added in.
Olympia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:26 PM   #10 
HookedOnBettas
New Member
 
HookedOnBettas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I'm thinking ill let it run for a week before adding my fish. What thinks will I need to check for when I have Co2 ? Besides ph.
Posted via Mobile Device
HookedOnBettas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dealing with electricity, whats safe and whats not safe!? Friendlyfishies Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 12 09-23-2012 03:57 PM
Safe? Tropical Betta Fish Care 23 09-07-2011 01:47 AM
Is this safe? Squidmagician Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 24 07-03-2011 10:03 AM
Is this safe? Welsh Betta Fish Care 3 08-03-2010 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.