Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-02-2012, 12:48 AM   #1 
asukabetta

Help me please betta pales at night!

Hello! I hope you can help me, this is my first time I have a betta, but I did extensive research before purchasing.

His name is Blueberry and is about 3 weeks old (in my house) and has been upgraded from a 2gallon bowl to a 2 gallon tank about a week ago or so (bowl was temporary till i found a tank that was decent and had the money for it)

He has a heater, light but no filter (I tried but it shook up the water too much and the betta didn't like it one bit.)

I do partial changes everyother day and full water changes once a week. using tap water with conditioner

His parms are normal, the temperature is constant at 75 farenheit. He doesnt seem to have any fungus, parasites or bloatness.

He does have some fin rot (i believe) but i have been putting a bit of salt to help the curing process, he had it from the store already.

However, ever since he was in the tank, as soon as I turn off the light for the night, the next morning he is all pale with his stress line visible.

At first i thought, it might be the cold, as leaving the light on, he quickly recovers his color (in an hour). But the temperatures remain stable thanks to the heater I bought him.

I do not know why he pales without light and with light he thrives. Is he scared of the dark???

He eats normal (pellets and dried blood worms) except when pale in the mornings (I need to wait till he calms down), acts normal, no clamped fins, stays on top of the tank, moves around, reacts to movement (says hi to me in front of the tank).