Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-03-2012, 03:00 PM   #1 
eclipse

Exclamation Swim bladder? Ammonia?

This is my first attempt at owning a Betta, and unfortunately it seems to be going very wrong.
Set up my tank a couple of weeks ago, with a heater & filter, added some live plants & a light and waited for the the numbers to be just right.
Finally I picked out a tenacious little red crowntail male at Petco, and brought him home. Gave him a couple of hours to get used to the water and at first he just sat there. Eventually he started swimming around, but never dipped too far past the surface.
I figured he was just settling in and fed him some bloodworms labeled "betta food" from the pet store. A couple of days passed and he was floating in the corners, only really doing any activity to chase after food. I've been doing daily partial water changes to keep ammonia lvls down. I decided yesterday to skip the water change and food, in case it was a swim bladder issue and this morning I woke up to find him attached to the filter intake.
I thought he was dead for sure, but when I unplugged the filter he swam away. Filter is currently off, heater is still on keeping tank at around 80 degrees.
Did a 50% water change and added some Kosher Salt, and he thrashed around a bit, actually hitting the side of the glass.
He's still on the surface, hiding behind the filter, slightly sideways, gills look like hes struggling to breathe.
When I get close to the tank he seems to look at me, like he's asking for help, and I don't know what to do at this point. Is there any hope?
My roommate's betta is sitting in less than a half gallon plastic bowl and is perfectly healthy, with no filter or heater and here my poor guy is half dead. Doesn't seem fair.
eclipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:05 PM   #2 
eclipse

Housing
What size is your tank? 10g