Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-05-2012, 03:35 AM   #1 
prosthetik

Not sure if sick or super lazy? :(

Im really new to having Betta so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

I've had my first one [Flake] for almost a year now, without any problems. About 5 days ago I got my second one [Ollie] and put them both in one of those double tanks with the split down the middle.

I got Ollie because he looked healthy, and was extremely active at the shop, and when I got him home. He was then ok for about a day but in the last day or 2 all he does is float in the corner of the tank and blow bubbles, usually kinda on his side almost. & he will hardly eat anything. He still has a nice flared tail and everything.

Is there something I should be concerned about? Or is any of it normal behaviour? Also, my original one, Flake, wont stop darting around since I got Ollie, whereas he was just really lazy beforehand. Is that normal or a concern also?

[my stats below arent very good - like i said, new to this whole experience]

Housing
What size is your tank? N/A
What temperature is your tank? N/A
Does your tank have a filter? No.
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? N/A
Is your tank heated? No.
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None.

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Betta flakes
How often do you feed your betta fish? Small amount once a day.

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? Once a week or a fortnight sometimes.
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 90% approx.
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? pH level drops.

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia: N/A to all.
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment