Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2012, 11:29 AM   #1 
reaperscreepers
New Member
 
reaperscreepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Cycling my First Tank

Hi!

I just got a 5 gal tank and i believe i need to cycle it for my betta!

So i have a question..

Do i need a filter in order to successfully cycle this new tank?

I now have 3 guppies and around 3 plants in my tank.. im using the guppies to cycle the tank.. is that okay?

TIA!
reaperscreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:33 AM   #2 
NyaNyanNaa
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Betta fish cannot be kept with guppies, first of all unless you want to wake up to find them dead.
NyaNyanNaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:56 AM   #3 
LizzyP
Member
 
LizzyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Yes you need a filter. And yes you can use guppies to cycle the tank but you can't keep them in there with a betta so you will need another tank or rehome them.
LizzyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:56 PM   #4 
reaperscreepers
New Member
 
reaperscreepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
i wont be keeping the guppies together with my betta.. its just for cycling the tank only and i will rehome them after cycling is done..

Can i do cycling without a filter?
reaperscreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:26 PM   #5 
LebronTheBetta
Member
 
LebronTheBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaperscreepers View Post
i wont be keeping the guppies together with my betta.. its just for cycling the tank only and i will rehome them after cycling is done..

Can i do cycling without a filter?

No. The filter is mandatory to start the cycle. They already said you need a filter to cycle...
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:29 PM   #6 
reaperscreepers
New Member
 
reaperscreepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LebronTheBetta View Post
No. The filter is mandatory to start the cycle. They already said you need a filter to cycle...
okay thanks!

and last question.. after cycling, can i take away the filter? read that bettas dont like much water movements and prefer still water..
reaperscreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:37 PM   #7 
BabyBetta0108
New Member
 
BabyBetta0108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Jose, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by reaperscreepers View Post
okay thanks!

and last question.. after cycling, can i take away the filter? read that bettas dont like much water movements and prefer still water..
I dont think you can take away the filter after....that would kill the good bacteria that has accumulated in your filter.
BabyBetta0108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:37 PM   #8 
LebronTheBetta
Member
 
LebronTheBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MD
:o The filter is the reason the cycle starts. The cycle happens in the filter, the BB live in the filter, taking away the filter means the tank will start to have ammonia again and all that crap. Lol. It's true Bettas don't like water movement but to get the needed BB, you'd have to have the filter, you could baffle too.
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:41 AM   #9 
reaperscreepers
New Member
 
reaperscreepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by LebronTheBetta View Post
:o The filter is the reason the cycle starts. The cycle happens in the filter, the BB live in the filter, taking away the filter means the tank will start to have ammonia again and all that crap. Lol. It's true Bettas don't like water movement but to get the needed BB, you'd have to have the filter, you could baffle too.
okay thanks everyone.. i guess i have to get a filter then..

Any more tips on cycling?
reaperscreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:58 AM   #10 
reaperscreepers
New Member
 
reaperscreepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
anyway, i have 3 plants in my cycling tank.. and my friend told me i need to provide co2 for the plants in order to let it grow..

is that true?
reaperscreepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank cycling LizzyP Betta Fish Care 4 09-03-2012 05:56 AM
Can someone help me with cycling my tank? chargers505 Betta Fish Care 6 12-29-2010 06:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.